Events
Upcoming Events

Unpacking Family Collections:
Personal Archives and Public Art Histories

A discussion with Ranjit Hoskote and Indira Chowdhury moderated by Tapati Guha-Thakurta on about postcards, generational memories and their entry into public domains.

 

 

Thursday, 7 January 2021, 7.00 pm IST, 1.30 pm GMT

Past Events

The Art of the Painted Postcard:
Nandalal Bose and His Contemporaries

Opening and virtual walk through with Prof. Tapati Guha-Thakurta and presentation by Prof. R. Sivakumar.
 

Thursday, 3 December 2020, 7.00 pm IST, 1.30 pm GMT

Shaping of Institutions: Drawing as Pedagogy and Practice ​

Event hosted by Kala Bhavana, Santiniketan on the occasion of Nandal Mela and the centenary of Kala Bhavana

 

With Prof. Tapati Guha-Thakurta, Santosh Sakhinala and Sampurna Chakraborty.

 

Friday, 4 December 2020, 7.00 pm IST, 1.30 pm GMT

Kala Bhavana and Beyond

Event hosted by Kala Bhavana, Santiniketan on the occasion of Nandal Mela and the centenary of Kala Bhavana

 

With Dr. Sanjoy Kumar Mallik, Soumik Nandy Majumdar, Sanchayan Ghosh, and Arpan Mukherjee.
 

Friday, 11 December 2020, 7.00 pm, 1.30 pm GMT

Postcard Diaries

An online workshop for 12 to 14 year olds by ThinkArts on Nandalal Bose, seeing rural India through his painted postcards.

 

Registration for the workshop has closed.

 

Saturday, 19 December 2020, 5.00 pm IST, 11.30 am GMT

Bits of Paper

An online workshop for 9 to 12 year olds by ThinkArts on Nandalal Bose and his playful paper experiments.

 

Registration for the workshop has closed.

 

Sunday, 20 December 2020, 11.00 am IST

Listening to Postcards:
Aural Pleasures in 20th Century India

Indira Biswas, Vebhuti Duggal, and Lakshmi Subramanian on radio, film music, and new audiences through postcards, in conversation with Prachi Deshpande.

 

Monday, 21 December 2020, 7.00 pm IST, 1.30 pm GMT